Bloomsbury US wins auction for I FOUND MY TRIBE by Ruth Fitzmaurice

Liese Mayer at Bloomsbury US has acquired North American rights to I FOUND MY TRIBE by Ruth Fitzmaurice at auction.

Ruth's tribe are her lively children and her film-maker husband, Simon, who has Motor Neurone Diseaase and can only communicate with his eyes. Ruth's other tribe are the friends who gather at the cove in Greystones, Ireland and regularly throw themselves into the freezing cold water just for kicks.

As she tells the story of their marriage, via diagnosis to their current precarious situation, Ruth also charts her passion for sea swimming - culminating in a midnight swim under the full moon on her wedding anniversary.

Nadine O'Regan just described I FOUND MY TRIBE on RTE:  'It’s an emotionally resonant, beautifully written work, reminiscent of Joan Didion, which is well worth your time.'

Bloomsbury said the book, set for spring 2018, is 'for readers of H Is for Hawk and When Breath Becomes Air.' The deal announcement can be read here.